The South Australian Tourism Awards covers all types of tourism experiences, from five star international hotels to bed and breakfasts, festivals, events and wineries. 

The Awards recognise the most outstanding tourism experiences in South Australia with a passion and commitment to excellence and innovation.

Entrants must meet criteria on the following areas:

Product – general overview

Business Planning – financial viability, risk

Marketing – strategies, responsible depictions of experiences

Customer Service – training skill development, customers with special needs

Responsible Tourism – save and monitor water, energy and reduce waste, involve and support local community, encourage and promote sustainability.

Congratulations to the 2017 South Australian Tourism Awards winners:

Premier's Award for Service Excellence - Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park

Major Tourist Attractions - Adelaide Zoo

Tourist Attractions - Calypso Star Charters

Major Festivals and Events - Santos Tour Down Under

Festivals and Events - Sounds by the River*

Ecotourism - Murray River Walk

Cultural Tourism - South Australian Museum

Qantas Award for Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Tourism - Aboriginal Cultural Tours - South Australia

Specialised Tourism Services - Proud Mary

Visitor Information Services - Clare Valley Wine, Food & Tourism Centre

Business Event Venue - Adelaide Hills Convention Centre

Major Tour and Transport Operators - Wrightsair

Tour and Transport Operators – Adelaide's Haunted Horizons*

Adventure Tourism - Calypso Star Charters*

Destination Marketing - Destination Riverland

Tourism Restaurants and Catering Services - The Tasting Room - Mayura Station

Tourism Wineries, Distilleries and Breweries - Dudley Wines

Caravan and Holiday Parks - Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park

Hosted Accommodation - Mulberry Lodge Luxury Country Retreat

Unique Accommodation - Griffens Marina Blanchetown*

Self Contained Accommodation - The Frames*

Standard Accommodation - Marree Hotel

Deluxe Accommodation - Yondah Beach House

Luxury Accommodation - The Playford McGallery by Softel

New Tourism Business - St Hugo

Excellence in Food Tourism - Barossa Valley Cheese Company

Outstanding Contribution by an Individual - John Culshaw

South Australian Tourism Student of the Year - Kelsey Reilly

Tourism Education and Training - TAFE SA

Local Government Award for Tourism - Peterborough Tourism - District Council of Peterborough

South Australian Taxi Driver of the Year - Samir 'Sam' Hasic

International Ready - Welcome China Project

RAA People's Choice Tourism Award - Adelaide Zoo

* Hall of Fame recipient

For information on the South Australian Tourism Awards contact or visit